Number of ministries since 1867.

104. There have been only two changes of Government and five Ministries since Confederation, and with the exception of from 17th November, 1873, to 17th October, 1878, Sir John A. Macdonald was at the head of the Government from the 1st July, 1867, to the day of his death, on the 6th June, 1891.

Departmental changes. 105. In 1879 a Bill was passed dividing the office of the Minister of Public Works, the new department assuming exclusive control of Railways and Canals; and in the same Session the office of Receiver-General was abolished. In 1892 the Act providing for the establishment of a Department of Trade and Commerce was brought into force, and the Ministers of Customs and Inland Revenue replaced by Comptrollers.

Members of ministries since 1867.

106. The following are the names of members from time to time composing the Ministries, with the dates of their appointments:—

## LIST OF MEMBERS OF THE SEVERAL MINISTRIES SINCE CONFEDERATION.

FIRST MINISTRY

FIRST MINISTRY.			
Office.	Name.	Date of Appointment.	
Premier	Rt. Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald, K.C.B  Rt. Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald, K.C.B  Hon. Sir A. T. Galt	July July Nov.	1, 1867 1, 1867 1, 1867 30, 1867 9, 1869
Minister of Militia and Defence	" Sir S. L. Tilley  Hon. W. McDougall " Sir Hector L. Langevin	Feb. July Dec.	22, 1873 1, 1867 9, 1869
	Hon. Sir George E. Cartier.  "Hugh McDonald.  Hon. Sir S. L. Tilley.  "Sir Charles Tupper.	July	1, 1867 1, 1873 1, 1867 22, 1873
_	Hon. J. C. Chapais  " C. Dunkin  " J. H. Pope	Nov. Oct.	1, 1867 16, 1869 25, 1871
Minister of Marine and Fisheries Minister of Inland Rev-	" John O'Connor  Hon. Peter Mitchell	100	1, 1867 1, 1873 1, 1867
		July Mar.	1, 1867 16, 1869 2, 1872 4, 1873 1, 1873